2016 Ontario Youth Choir

Looking for tickets? We thought so!

St. Mark's Anglican (Niagara-on-the-Lake) - Friday, August 19th, 7:30pm

All Saint's Anglican (Peterborough) - Saturday, August 20th, 7:30pm

Grace Church on-the-Hill (Toronto) - Sunday, August 21st, 3:00pm


The 2016 Ontario Youth Choir programme runs from August 12 to 21, 2016. The choir will train and reside on the downtown campus of the University of Toronto before embarking on a three-city tour culminating in a final performance in Toronto on August 21, 2016.

The Ontario Youth Choir gratefully acknowledges support from Choirs Ontario members and donors, the Flora Morrison Fund at the Toronto Community Foundation, the Vern and Frieda Heinrichs Foundation, the Ontario Arts Council, the Toronto Arts Council, and the Faculty of Music at the University of Toronto.

View concert repertoire.

2016 Artistic Staff

The Conductor

This year, the Ontario Youth Choir will be led by one of Canada’s foremost choral musicians, Robert Cooper. Mr. Cooper is Artistic Director of the Orpheus Choir of Toronto, Chorus Niagara, the Opera in Concert Chorus, and the newly created Ontario Male Chorus. He has taught at the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Music, and has had the honour of conducting the National Youth Choir of Canada, the Ontario Youth Choir (1979, 2007), and a Celebration of Canadian Choral Music at Carnegie Hall. As a superb choral trainer and conductor, Mr. Cooper has provided strong artistic mentoring to singing youth in the Toronto Mendelssohn Youth Choir, as well as the Orpheus Choir Sidgwick Scholars Program, influencing over 2,000 young adult singers.

In addition to his work with choirs, Mr. Cooper has been involved with the presentation of more than 150 operas and has conducted symphony orchestras across Canada. Over his career Mr Cooper has prepared choruses for many international conductors including Helmuth Rilling, Sir David Willcocks, John Rutter, Sir Andrew Davis, Charles Dutoit, and the late Robert Shaw and Elmer Iseler.  Recipient of the St. Catharines’ Trillium Arts Award, Robert Cooper has also received an Honorary Doctorate from Brock University, the Order of Canada as well as the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal for his significant contribution to the Canadian choral community.

Edward Moroney, pianist

Edward Moroney pursues his eclectic career as a church musician, accompanist, composer and vocal coach in Toronto. He is the accompanist for the Orpheus Choir of Toronto, and a tutor and accompanist for three choirs at York University. Mr. Moroney is a former organ-scholar of St. Chad’s College, Durham University (UK), and is a fellow of several learned societies and British music colleges. Throughout many years of accompanying, he has been associated with the Canadian Children’s Opera Chorus, the COC, the Toronto Mendelssohn Youth Choir, the Univ. of Toronto Women’s Chorus, and the Opera in Concert Chorus. He has performed with many distinguished conductors, including Robert Cooper (30 years), Lloyd Bradshaw, Elmer Iseler, Martin Neary, John Rutter and Robert Sund, both in master classes, festivals, tours, operas, concerts and broadcasts. He is a recipient of the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal (2002), the Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012), and is a Knight Commander of the Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem (KCHS), Holy See (2015).

In the summer of 2007, Mr. Moroney was pleased to accompany the Ontario Youth Choir, under the conductorship of Robert Cooper, and at the 2008 International Festival of Men & Boys’ Choirs in Prague. He accompanied the Black Creek Festival Chorus in 2011. This summer he will once again accompany the Ontario Youth Choir in concerts.

Elizabeth McDonald, vocal coach

Soprano Elizabeth McDonald is having a diverse career as a performer and teacher. As a young artist with both the Santa Fe Opera and the Canadian Opera Company, Elizabeth understudied and performed a number of major roles including Elettra in Mozart’s Idomeneo, The Woman in Schoenberg’s Erwartung, Miss Jessel in Britten’s Turn of the Screw, and Jenufa in Janecek’s Jenufa. She has appeared with the National Ballet Orchestra, the Canadian Opera Company Orchestra, and the Kingston Symphony and is a regular recitalist having been featured at Virginia Polytechnic University, Eastman School of Music and the Universities of Toronto, Lethbridge, Queen’s and Carlton, and the Off Centre Music Salon. A voice instructor at the University of Toronto, Elizabeth was selected to participant in the 2012 National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) Intern Teaching Program. She has served as an adjudicator for major voice festivals across Canada and regularly works as a vocal consultant for the Ontario Youth Choir, the Toronto Children’s Chorus and the University of Toronto’s annual Choral Symposium.

Mark Daboll, vocal coach

Baritone Mark Joelson Daboll teaches applied voice and vocal pedagogy at both the Faculty of Music and Emmanuel College, University of Toronto, and at his private studio. He has assisted in the vocal preparation of internationally renowned actors for film and theatre roles; professional opera and Broadway singers; solo and choral singers of all ages and styles; and award- winning competitors. He is sought after as a master-class instructor, as a personal and engaging music festival adjudicator, and as a coach-clinician at vocal/choral workshops, including a return engagement teaching the vocal technique master class for the Canadian Opera Company’s Summer Youth Intensive Program. Mr. Daboll has performed as a member of the Canadian Opera Company Chorus (from 2000 to 2010), and with L’Opéra de Montréal, Spoleto Festival USA, Festival dei due Mondi (Spoleto, Italy), and the Festspiele Musik und Theater Saar in Germany. His vast vocal repertoire also includes oratorio/concert works, music theatre, cabaret, lounge, and art song. He is an avid performer of concert repertoire and new works, ranging from the Solo Cantatas of J. S. Bach to Allegory for a Rock Opera at Toronto’s Nuit Blanche 2010. 


2016 Conducting Interns

Elise Naccarato, Walter Mahabir


2016 Camp Staff

Camp Director: Sarah Maria Leung

Chaperones: Tamiko Barker and David Hunter


2016 Choir Members


Kaela Bosch, Caitlyn Breukelman, Erica D’Amore, Olivia Haramis, Leslie Higgins, Jocelyn Hoevenaars, Kristen Jarabek, Gloria Kapel, Josee Landry, Vyllana Nguyen, Sasha Paikin


Charlotte Bourdon, Emily Burnett, Helen Cheu, Alysha Child, Sharlene Clarke, Sarah Fogh, Paige Lavergne, Emily Parker, Brooke Porter


Dilshan Anandarajan, Noah Braganca, Cristian Delfino, Stephen Gagnon-Ruscio, Eric Ghobril, Robert Hutson, Mikolai Kawai, Taran Kim, Tim Lo


Victor Cheng, Sebastien Duckett, Wesley Hui, Sarkis Kidanian, Kai Leung, Andrew Poaps, Taylor Webb, Philippe Wandeler, Devon Wilton, Derrell Woods, Isaiah Yankech